Ouch! I must still be a newby, because I just found out at the vegan mentor meeting that wine is not necessarily vegan. Something about processing it with fish guts. Is this true for ALL wine that is not marked "vegan"?
The "fish guts" are more often used in beers such as dark english ales, although it is used by some winemakers. More common in wine is egg whites. Neither of these things is actually in the finished product, they are used in the clarifying process. Both wineries and breweries have their own peronalities. The best way to find out is to contact the producer directly, it can even vary among different wines or beers from the same producer.
There are a number of vegan wine and beer lists online. There is a pretty extensive vegan wine guide here http://vegans.frommars.org/wine/
I've found the wine issue to be right up there with the sugar issue for most vegans, they don't much worry about it. It's just a nice next step if you're determined to eliminate every trace of animal product.