Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The Cheese Issue
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 3:56 pm 
Offline
Manatee
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 322
Location: Hampshire Swordsman
Okay I know WE don't eat Cheese, unless you're a lacto-vegeterian who uses these forums, I dunno.

Anyway, what I didn't know is that most cheese uses something called Rennet, it's a "natural" chemical that makes the cheese set. Rennet is made from the stomach lining of cows.

Soo, does that mean that cheese has meat in it?

Just an odd thought.

_________________
"Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard." - Tim Notke
"Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." - Sir Winston Churchill


Last edited by mythil on Sun May 12, 2013 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Cheese Issue
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 4:07 pm 
Offline
Rabbit
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:36 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Glasgow, UK
Huh. Never knew this. A quick hunt of the internet says -

"Rennet is derived from one of four sources:

The stomach lining of a calf, ewe or kid (baby goat). The enzyme rennin is found in the stomach lining of animals because it aids in the digestion of their mother's milk. This type of rennet is usually called “traditional rennet” on cheese labels.
Plants, typically thistle
Microbes in fungus and yeast. This type of rennet is called "microbial rennet" on cheese labels
Genetically engineered rennet that imitates animal rennet."

"In cheese making, for milk to separate into curds and whey (curdling), the process requires the addition of rennet. Rennet contains the enzyme chymosin. Rennet is usually sourced from the abomasum (fourth stomach) of newly-born calves whereby the chymosin aids digestion and absorption of milk, adult cows do not have this enzyme. Chymosin is extracted from slaughtered calves by washing and drying the stomach lining, which is then cut into small pieces and macerated in a solution of boric acid/brine for 4-5 days."

So, a lot of cheese won't be vegetarian I guess. It doesn't have meat, but rather an extracted enzyme. I'll read some labels out of interest. Because rennet is made from the bi-product of veal production and consequently a bi-product of the dairy industry, ethically I can't see eating non-vegetarian cheeses as being worse than vegetarian industry... it's the bloody dairy industry again. Calves killed to get the milk have the enzyme taken and are turned into veal.

_________________
A man can live and be healthy without killing animals for food; therefore, if he eats meat, he participates in taking animal life merely for the sake of his appetite. And to act so is immoral.
—Leo Tolstoy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Cheese Issue
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 4:12 pm 
Offline
Manatee
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 322
Location: Hampshire Swordsman
Glasvegan wrote:
Huh. Never knew this. A quick hunt of the internet says -

"Rennet is derived from one of four sources:

The stomach lining of a calf, ewe or kid (baby goat). The enzyme rennin is found in the stomach lining of animals because it aids in the digestion of their mother's milk. This type of rennet is usually called “traditional rennet” on cheese labels.
Plants, typically thistle
Microbes in fungus and yeast. This type of rennet is called "microbial rennet" on cheese labels
Genetically engineered rennet that imitates animal rennet."

"In cheese making, for milk to separate into curds and whey (curdling), the process requires the addition of rennet. Rennet contains the enzyme chymosin. Rennet is usually sourced from the abomasum (fourth stomach) of newly-born calves whereby the chymosin aids digestion and absorption of milk, adult cows do not have this enzyme. Chymosin is extracted from slaughtered calves by washing and drying the stomach lining, which is then cut into small pieces and macerated in a solution of boric acid/brine for 4-5 days."

So, a lot of cheese won't be vegetarian I guess. It doesn't have meat, but rather an extracted enzyme. I'll read some labels out of interest. Because rennet is made from the bi-product of veal production and consequently a bi-product of the dairy industry, ethically I can't see eating non-vegetarian cheeses as being worse than vegetarian industry... it's the bloody dairy industry again. Calves killed to get the milk have the enzyme taken and are turned into veal.


Yeap, I didn't really do much research. All I knew was "rennet = cow stomach lining".

Just shows, stuff goes into food that you wouldn't expect.

Also, when it comes to things in life where I can't avoid.. say a part of something coming from an animal, I'll try and make that as less of an impact as possible (using as much fake leather as possible, buying second hand if I can) as I have a few different bits of protective equipment that are only made with some leather parts or some wool. Yea it sucks but without shelling out lots and lots of money for custom gear..

Anyway getting off topic, what I mean is wouldn't the specific vegetarian cheese be better? As they wouldn't be getting the money for the calve rennet?

_________________
"Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard." - Tim Notke
"Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." - Sir Winston Churchill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Cheese Issue
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 4:17 pm 
Offline
Rabbit
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:36 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Glasgow, UK
I'm a die-hard Googler. I spend half my life in the search bar.

mythil wrote:

Just shows, stuff goes into food that you wouldn't expect.



It really does. I make pretty much all my food from scratch and even then I worry about where the vegetables have been and how many stages it takes even to grow lettuce.

_________________
A man can live and be healthy without killing animals for food; therefore, if he eats meat, he participates in taking animal life merely for the sake of his appetite. And to act so is immoral.
—Leo Tolstoy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Cheese Issue
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 11:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 6065
Location: England
Yes, before I was vegan and just vegetarian, I would look out for cheese which was vegetarian and did not contain rennet. Now I know the truth of the dairy industry, the distinction is absurd.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



{ ASACP_CREDITS }
{ ASACP_CREDITS }
{ ASACP_CREDITS } Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group