I Can't Believe I'm Joining a Vegan Community!

Quest Engine

Two years ago, I'd have though you were all crazy new-age tree-huggers, but I've since been enlightened, and now I know this is the place where I belong.

Me: Brandon, 29, North Carolina, Computer programer.

I've been without meat for probably 2 months, and without milk and eggs for eight days now. Giving up dairy was harder because it was so omnipresent in my diet, but after the first few days of shock, I've grown used to working around milk/butter/sour cream/ranch dressing, and I feel better for it.

I initially found this site (by a link from what's now stevepavlina.com) a couple of years ago. Just recently, we moved into a new house, and I've created my "Fortress of Solitude" in the basement and started lifting weights again (for the first time in 3-4 years probably). I figured if I was going to get serious about getting fit, I need to make some dietary changes too.

So I'm new to the diet, but pretty experienced with the workout regimen. I've been impressed by all the intelligent, thoughful posts here, and I hope to become a contributing part of the community pretty soon. Thanks for Robert for making a cool site and to all the forum regulars for creating such a good resource.

Brandon

rock on brutha...you're making some smart moves, keep it up. what kind of protein are you getting? I know when I first made the switch 4 years ago I had a serious lack of energy, til I figured it out. lately I make sure to get around 200-300 g. of protein daily - mostly from soy protein isolate, rice and hemp protein. just trying to save you some grief and keep you from getting discouraged, it can be a rough adjustment at first for some. This is my first post here too, seems like there's lots of cool people around here, very kind individuals from what I see.

Hey Brandon, welcome to our awesome team! Thanks for the kind comments and for telling us a bit about yourself.