Older beginner

Introduce yourself. Tell us about your training history, how long you've been vegan, share some of your goals and some of your interests.

Moderators: Mini Forklift Ⓥ, C.O., Richard, robert, SyrLinus

pawnjuggler
Finch

Older beginner

#1 Postby pawnjuggler » Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:51 pm

Hi everyone,
I've been a vegetarian for about 18 years, and just recently started moving toward vegan.
I've also just started working out at a gym about a month ago after being sedentary for quite a few years. I'm 59 years old so it's a bit of a challenge starting a fitness program at this age. However it is going very well and I'm looking forward to making good progress. I don't think age is any excuse. I started learning to play classical guitar at age 48 when many people said I was "too old". Nonsense.
Any suggestions from anyone on training and transitioning to vegan are welcome.

Joseph

jungleinthefrunk
Gorilla

Re: Older beginner

#2 Postby jungleinthefrunk » Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:06 pm

dont take crap from anyone regarding protein. you can easily get 200-300 grams a day with rice protein and eating correctly. what specifically are looking to learn about? not like im qualified to tell u lol...although i went from last year being a 180lb lacto-ovo-pescatarian who rarely exercised to a 130lbs vegan who can lift more than a lot of guys at the gym. ...
Darth Vader from Sandlot once said, "Heroes get remembered, but legends never die." Then he later died.
https://www.facebook.com/LaurenHarrisonAnbfPro
https://www.facebook.com/BigMeeeeech
https://www.youtube.com/user/doctorvannostrand100

bba
Finch

#3 Postby bba » Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:00 am

Welcome to the forum, I am new here too :)

juliancw
Rabbit

#4 Postby juliancw » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:40 am

Ive seen guys your age in the gym who could easily out lift and out run many of my friends in their early 20's! So I totally agree with your view!

pawnjuggler
Finch

#5 Postby pawnjuggler » Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:44 pm