Greetings from Richmond, Virginia!

Introduce yourself. Tell us about your training history, how long you've been vegan, share some of your goals and some of your interests.

Moderators: Mini Forklift Ⓥ, C.O., Richard, robert, SyrLinus

Paul Messplay
Rabbit

Greetings from Richmond, Virginia!

#1 Postby Paul Messplay » Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:13 pm

Heyy everyone, my name is Paul. I'm 18 and have been vegan for four years. When I first started out I was not very concerned with the nutrition aspect of veganism but more so the environmental and ethical sides. It wasn't until this past year that I really started to focus on exercise and nutrition. Over the past month I've weeded out refined sugars, high fructose corn syrup, and fried foods which has been a huge step for me considering I'm stuck eating cafeteria style food 2-3 times a day.

I'm currently a freshman at Virginia Commonwealth University and am an Int'l Studies and Business major. When I tell people around campus that I'm vegan they often have a seemingly puzzled look on their face. I enjoy breaking down the frail, malnourished image some people have of vegans and over the course of the year I plan on breaking down that image even more!

jonzen
Manatee

#2 Postby jonzen » Mon Oct 16, 2006 12:29 am

Nice to meet you Paul!

It's great to know that you are dealing with the same issues. Sounds to me like you are doing a fine job too! Congratulations on cutting the sugar and corn syrups and fried food! Bravo man!

As they say, Welcome Aboard!

John

offense74
Elephant

#3 Postby offense74 » Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:48 am

Welcome Paul :D
The surest road to happiness is low expectations.

Odidnetne
Stegosaurus

#4 Postby Odidnetne » Mon Oct 16, 2006 8:26 am

Welcome!

Getting rid of high fructose corn syrup made me look like a starving child after about a month, I seriously believe it's one of the biggest problems in weight loss.
www.facebook.com/OhDid