Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Hello Everyone I'm new in here.
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:11 pm 
Rabbit

Hello everyone I'm new to this whole Vegan Bodybuilding. I'm 18 years old. I'm a 99.9% vegan. Since I heard about Vegan Bodybuilding on My Space, I wanted to give it a try since I got lots of time before I start school.

Is there anyone that can please tell me what's the best way to start, how will I be able to gain weight since I'm a really skinny person (even before I went Vegan).

Will anyone be willing to give me a list of foods and exercises I can do from morning to night.

Couple of months ago I decided to start working out (before I heard about this website and I was still Vegan). I would only do easy stuff like 100 push ups per day, 100 pull ups and I would usually run on the treadmill for at least 30 minutes everyday. Then sometimes after finishing I would get light headed I'm not sure if it was because I was just starting or I'm not getting enough vitamins.

I hope someone can help me so I can get a better start than then one I did before

Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:33 pm 
Elephant

Hi Rex.

Welcome to our forum :)

I understand your main goal is weight gain, right?

Okay, then first, you have to eat a lot. Simply eat everything you can find that is vegan for a start ;) Beans, lentils, brown rice, quinoa, tofu, nuts, oats, seeds, and of course all kinds of vegetables and fruits. Don't eat too much in one meal, rather try to eat as often as you can.

Training: focus on the big compound movements and on getting stronger on those. For a start, you have to learn the proper technique on the lifts so don't go too heavy. You should be able to do at least 12 clean reps in every set. Doing squats, deadlift, bench press, overhead press, dips, rows and chin ups would be enough for the beginning.