Edward's journal of awesomeness

Intro

I have been vegan for four years now and it has been very good to me. I started training hard when I was 17 and got very stronger but it was so difficult for me to put on any actual muscle mass so I got very discouraged and drifted away from training. Well my metabolism has seemed to ease off a little bit and I can finally put on some weight. I also had a terrible motocross accident when I was 17 that made me give up one of my greatest joys: running. I did not think I could ever really run again but about a month ago I saw my surgeon and he said everything was doing really well in my smashed up ankle, so I tried going for a run and it went really well!

Background

21 year old male

155 pounds

5'10"

Have not trained in at least 2 years, still in fairly good shape

Currently running every other day

Goals

To be the best I can be

To represent veganism well

To be ready for anything

To do a marathon, triathlon or some sort of race in the fall

Issues

Feeling nauseous after running, perhaps this is from lack of hydration? I dont like to carry a water bottle with me, think I will get one of those waist belts soon.

Ankle still is not 100% but close too it, very picky feet when it comes to shoes. I like my Merrells but they are worn out and I have not tried on a shoe I particularly like yet.

Recovery seems to be slow right now but it is still early into training.

Last workout

4 km run two days ago

2 km on flat road and 2km up a steep gravel road

Only walked maybe 200 m of the hill which I think is pretty good so early on.

I am still pretty sore but feel like I could run today, do you guy think it would be okay to go out or should I take another rest day?

The worst part of training is the rest days. I am pumped to go!

Your intro mentioned putting on weight but it sounds like you are a runner not a lifter so you are kind of in the business of burning calories and keeping light