how can I gain less mass in my waist?

xevious

I'm 187 tall and weigh about 163 lbs. I eat about 4000 calories per day and train one hour/five days per week. I train my mid torso once per week. I eat 20% protein, 50% carbs, 30% fat consisting mostly of whole foods, but also some processed foods like soy sausages, soy yoghurt etc. I eat more or less six meals per day.

I've been putting on about 4-5 kg of weight in about three months. I've gained some muscle but my stomach has grown quite a bit which worries me. My stomach and waist is starting to look a bit out of proportion and I'm having a hard time fitting in my trousers. It's not all fat, I guess my stomach is bloated too due to eating a fair bit of beans, peas and soy....

This is my first time on a proper mass building program, so perhaps this is normal? Will my stomach shrink once on a fat burning program?

Thanks in advance for the info!

-Patrik

Regarding the feel of having more weight in your midsection....