Looking for beginner advice

Shojiki

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forums so I wanted to first say hi and introduce myself.

I'm ashamed to say that currently I'm not vegan, only vegetarian, however i am looking to transition to veganism by the end of the year, if not sooner.

I found this website about a month ago and have to say I'm both impressed and inspired by you guys, and blown away by some of the results you've achieved.

I'm relatively new to strength training. I've been trying it off and on for a number of years, read all sorts of information on the internet (a lot of it conflicting!) but for the most part, have failed to make any substantial gains.

I recently turned 30 and have decided it's time to get serious and gain the kind of body, and fitness, I've always wanted.

I've spent some time looking into a beginner program that will provide me with some respectable gains, but also motivate me to stick at it. I was wondering if you lovely people could give me any pointers as to whether this is a good place to start, but also whether there's anything I might want to change. I understand the basic concepts of progression and nutrition and have tried to incorporate that into my program:

Stats:

Weight: 147 lbs

Height: 6'

Program:

Initially, I'm going for a full body routine 3x a week as I feel this will prepare my joints and tendons etc for an eventual 3 day split, but also keeps it simple in order to "re-wire" by brain to stick with the program.

Cardio/warmup:

10 mins treadmill (progression via increase of speed by .1km/hr each session)

Core:

Choosing between hanging leg raises - 3 sets of 8-12 reps (add weight for progression)

or

"Scooby's Rotary Exercise" consisting of 45 secs for the following exercises:

Left side plank, crunches, right side plank, front plank (2 sets with weight added for progression.)

Back and Biceps: