Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: PT Certification
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:32 pm 
Rabbit

Hey y'all. I've been throwing around the idea that I should become a certified personal trainer. I'm currently studying Environmental Biology at UC Berkeley and had to recently leave my job. I love, love, love going to the gym and although my area of study isn't Exercise Physiology, Nutrition, etc., it is still a form of biology. In my resistance training classes, I sometimes get approached by other students for advice and by the teacher to illustrate proper form. In my gym I have even been pointed out by CPT's while they were training their clients for what good form looks like.

Is personal training something that can be done part time or is it a career you need to devote yourself full time to? I like the idea of having a job that will support me through college and graduate school and utilize biological principles that I have learned from the classroom.

Also, which are the best PT certification programs? There seem to be 50 different organizations.

Post subject: Re: PT Certification
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:41 am 
Gorilla

ACE is well known and you do it on your own but the test is at a testing centre not just over the internet like these craphole PT courses.
And I know a lot of people who do it part time and make a ton of green, best of luck.

We gotta learn to see the beauty in each moment of life
Everyone has different pasts and we're seeking the light
The world is divided between peasants and kings
But the truth is everyone is looking for the same thing

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:19 pm 
Elephant

zinzen wrote:
ACE is well known and you do it on your own but the test is at a testing centre not just over the internet like these craphole PT courses.
And I know a lot of people who do it part time and make a ton of green, best of luck.