Practical Self-Defense

What's people's views on the best/most reliable form of practical self-defence? Without having to train for 7+ years or having to spend thousands on learning.

I've been doing boxing on/off for about 3-4 years, and since I became more serious about my health and general body fitness last year, I've got more into it. I've always been interested in learning a Martial Art but have been discouraged by people that have experience in Martial Arts who view it as impractical.. I have met some who view it as very practical, and I respect them for this. But like I said, I've never learnt any Martial Art just because I'm worried about not getting anything out of it.

A friend of our family's studied Takewondo, Karate and Boxing for over 15+years and still viewed Boxing as being the most practical in self-defence.

I have a colleague at work who has been studying Karate for over 15 years and is very proficient in it. But he said to me it took him a very long time to learn it. He showed me some of his moves, but they seemed highly impractical in many self-defence situations, unless you knew them back to front or practised them on a day to day basis.

I find boxing to be very practical in self-defence situations because of the footwork and hand work. (I must say I haven never used it in real life though, mostly because I believe in pacifism and see violence as a last resort only).

I really wanted to learn Krav Maga because of its emphasis on self-defence situations, but was discouraged by my work colleague who thought it would be inappropriate for any probable situations where we live...

I'm think I would really like to learn Taekwondo for the kicks, because I currently know no kicks.. But I don't want to learn Taekwondo for upper-body - which I have got from boxing.

Most Practical = Muay thai, Boxing, Krav Maga, Wing Chun(just pure wing chun, not mixed with any other kung fu style), Kyokushin Karate