Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Protein Bars (ANDI and PureFit)
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:23 pm 
Offline
Rabbit

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:25 pm
Posts: 190
Hey!
I just wanted to inform u all on another protein bar that I haven't seen anyone mention: ANDI Bars. They are AWESOME (especially Blueberry Muffin and Chocolate Shake). They are vegan and gluten-free. They contain 15g per bar. They are hard to find in stores, so order them online. http://www.autismndi.com
Has anyone tried Pure Fit bars? I saw them at one small health store and want to try them (however, they claim they are vegan, yet have honey in them.... what is your opinion on honey? Some vegans consume it, some don't....)


ttyl!!!!!

_________________
"May I always be the type of person my dog thinks I am"

"Don't Hassel the Hoff!"

"Don't Mess with the 'S'!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:52 am 
Offline
Elephant

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:57 pm
Posts: 1242
Location: Portland, OR
ANDI bars.

Nice.

How'd you find them?

Edit to add:
Honey is a no-go for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Protein Bars (ANDI and PureFit)
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:24 am 
Offline
Elephant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 3:38 pm
Posts: 1869
Location: Vegan Strength Cult, German HQ
Shelby wrote:
(however, they claim they are vegan, yet have honey in them.... what is your opinion on honey? Some vegans consume it, some don't....)

Without moral judging, one can't be vegan AND consume animal products, per definition. That's the same as claiming to be vegetarian and eating fish. So, no VEGANS consume honey ;)

_________________
No one said it would be easy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:32 am 
Offline
Elephant
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 2292
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Haven't herad of ANDI bars, I'll be in Pittsburgh this weekend, I'll check out the whole foods or the co-op for them.

As for honey, I'm a vegan, not a beegan. :? Both the UK and US vegan societies define honey as an animal product and not vegan. I prefer to avoid every animal product, that is one of the things that makes being vegan so easy. If it's animal no, if it's not yes. There is no grey area for having to always decide if this is okay or that is okay.

There are some threads on veganfitness.net that went on for weeks about honey. If you are on the fence, search honey over there and be prepared to never eat honey again. Or, you could ask Daniel on here if he doesn't chime in on this. He can sum up the honey situation in a paragraph! :)

_________________
The Pittsburgh Vegan Meetup

http://www.facebook.com/veganburgh


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 1:20 pm 
Offline
Rabbit

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:25 pm
Posts: 190
Yeah, I don't do honey either, but I saw some posts about the PureFit bars, which prompted me to check out the ingredients. What drives me INSANE is when manufactueres claim that their product is Vegan, yet include honey in their products. Excuse me, but the last time I checked, honey is NOT vegan. Grrrr. :oP
I found ANDI bars at a local health food store. I'm Celiac (I'm allergic to wheat/gluten and sensitive to most other grains), so these bars are a staple in my diet. They are actually intended to the Austism diet (which claims that austistic children will thrive if caesin and gluten is cut out of their diet)... but since the bars are vegan and gluten free, i thought I may as well eat them too! I doubt u'll find them at Whole Foods or other health food stores.... no one really carries them b/c they are run by a small company. Please do try them tho... they are the BEST bars I've ever had... and are very nutritious too! :o)

_________________
"May I always be the type of person my dog thinks I am"

"Don't Hassel the Hoff!"

"Don't Mess with the 'S'!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 11:32 pm 
Offline
Elephant

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:57 pm
Posts: 1242
Location: Portland, OR
Cool beans.

Ty for the heads up :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:03 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 3072
Location: Waukesha, WI
Steer clear of PureFit bars for sure! A customer forwarded me an email correspondence about a year ago that they'd had with the founder of PureFit - let's just say his opinion of vegans is not really all that high :evil: He repeatedly insisted that honey WAS vegan and despite the claims of pretty well everyone else that it is not, he claimed that he MET some vegans who ate honey so therefore it was perfectly acceptable to all of us. When confronted with the evidence against his theory, he got downright nasty, pretty well said that vegans were crazy, irrational folk and that he had no intention to ever take the honey out just because it would make it so we could actually eat it. I wrote him a few months ago to test things and see if he was still being vicious toward vegans, this time he was calmer but still insisted that the bars would always have honey and that the labels would eventually be changed to remove the word "vegan" from them. No idea why people get all bent over simply admitting that they didn't know what vegan really meant, but in any case, if PureFit every puts anything out that's actually vegan, steer clear!

Ryan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 3:28 pm 
Offline
Rabbit

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:25 pm
Posts: 190
Wow, that's insane, Ryan! What a jerk that guy is! Thanks for the input everyone... I think i'll just stick to my tofu, nuts, ANDI bars, and protein shakes!

_________________
"May I always be the type of person my dog thinks I am"

"Don't Hassel the Hoff!"

"Don't Mess with the 'S'!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:54 am 
Offline
Rabbit

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:54 am
Posts: 164
I came across the ANDI bars for the first time last night at my neighborhood health food store. I read the ingredients and was tempted to buy, but can't get past the honey thing, especially since it's too far up on the list. Why manufactures don't just go ahead and use something like agave nectar, stevia, FOS, erythritol or xylitol as the sweetener is beyond me...it would taste the same and satisfy vegans and non-vegans alike. No-brainer, IMO.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:57 am 
Offline
Rabbit

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:25 pm
Posts: 190
ANDI Bars contain NO HONEY... it's the Purefit bars that have honey. ANDI Bars are completely vegan/gluten-free/caesin-free. Just wanted to clear that up! :)

_________________
"May I always be the type of person my dog thinks I am"

"Don't Hassel the Hoff!"

"Don't Mess with the 'S'!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:19 pm 
Offline
Rabbit

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:54 am
Posts: 164
Sorry, my mistake. I must have confused it with another new bar I saw there. This one had clear wrapping.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



{ ASACP_CREDITS }
{ ASACP_CREDITS }
{ ASACP_CREDITS } Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group