Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:14 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: well rounded vegan diet
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:17 am 
Finch

I'm new to this whole vegan thing and I need to find a good 1500 to 2000 calorie diet. Would anyone be able to provide a sample menu?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:42 am 
Elephant

Go for grains, beans, fruit, vegetables, nuts --- I think it's best to eat a variety of things every day. There are some things I try to eat everyday, like a bowl of oatmeal with ground up flax seeds, but usually the menu is different from day to day.

Post subject: Re: well rounded vegan diet
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:19 am 
Elephant

slcpunx wrote:
I'm new to this whole vegan thing and I need to find a good 1500 to 2000 calorie diet. Would anyone be able to provide a sample menu?

Could you post a sample of your "prevegan" diet, and we can go from there?

In general, as Will said, variety is important, particularly varying the color of fruits and veggies you eat, to attempt to get a full spectrum (red, orange, yellow, green, blue/purple, white) each day. Each color is associated with a different phytonutrient, like red and lycopene, so the variety assures you have a balance of nutrients.

Also watch for:
A balance of macronutrients (protein from beans, lentils, hemp, seitan; carbohydrates, from grains--which I like to limit--vegetables and fruits; and healthy fats from nuts, avocados, flax, hemp);

Sources of B-12, iron, calcium and zinc. (Whole food sources are what I prefer when possible).

The closer you can stick to a whole foods diet (avoiding processed foods) the healthier you will be, IMO.