What NOT to eat: Animal Ingredients and Alternatives

All topics relating to health, diet, nutrition programs and any questions you might have about general health.

Moderators: Mini Forklift Ⓥ, C.O., Richard, robert, SyrLinus

Message
Author
Kathryn
Elephant
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: Illinois

#31 Postby Kathryn » Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:07 pm

madcat wrote:I hate having to inspect my food so carefully!!!! I dislike that being vegan makes me so different when it comes to what I can eat. Don’t get me wrong, this is not to say that I want to stop being vegan, I just wish everyone was. I wish that I could go to IHOP to get vegan pancakes, or that I could eat anything at my friend’s houses.


DAMN IT WORLD…. BE VEGAN ALREADY!!!!!


I agree!!

It can get a bit tedious checking new foods (and even foods you're familiar with when it is "new and improved!") for whey, glycerine, D3 instead of D2. Since non-vegans CAN eat vegan food and can't have an ethical objection to it (but not vice-versa), then why not make vegan the norm? :wink:

Kathryn
Elephant
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: Illinois

#32 Postby Kathryn » Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:08 pm

madcat wrote:Well I got a reply today for 8th continent….
Thank you for contacting 8th Continent with your inquiry. Unfortunately, at this time, we cannot state that any of the 8th Continent Soy Milk products are vegan.



It's ridiculous to make a soy milk that isn't vegan!! :shock:

kollision
Elephant
Posts: 1448
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

#33 Postby kollision » Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:12 pm

Not really. Some people that drink soy milk aren't even vegan. As a matter of fact, the first time I ever heard of soy milk was from a non vegan. Sad though, but ya.

User avatar
madcat
Manatee
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: portland

#34 Postby madcat » Mon Feb 20, 2006 2:42 pm

:( i still think its the b12.
damn it world! be vegan already!

User avatar
Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 6064
Age: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: England
Contact:

#35 Postby Richard » Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:31 am

I was checking the ingredients of something that my brother eats, and it has lactoserum in it, but I can't find out what that word means, can anyone tell me? Is it just whey?
Image

kollision
Elephant
Posts: 1448
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

#36 Postby kollision » Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:30 am

http://www.wipo.int/cgi-pct/guest/getby ... T_SET=DECL

Not vegan according to this. Also, the word Lacto refers to milk, so it's defintely not vegan.

User avatar
Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 6064
Age: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: England
Contact:

#37 Postby Richard » Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:35 am

Thanks dude :) lactoserum wasn't in any of the dictionaries or encyclopedias that I checked :x :x :x
Image

Kathryn
Elephant
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: Illinois

#38 Postby Kathryn » Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:34 am

Richard wrote:Thanks dude :) lactoserum wasn't in any of the dictionaries or encyclopedias that I checked :x :x :x

I've never heard of it, either. Maybe it's just a new, fancy term for " pus found in milk" ?

michael
Rabbit
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:54 am

#39 Postby michael » Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:57 pm

It's a French word that crosses over into English at times, particularly in the scientific community. Basically a synonym for whey.

kollision
Elephant
Posts: 1448
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

#40 Postby kollision » Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:02 pm

Anytime Richard, glad I could help :)

Thanks Michael for explaining to us what it is, hwoever, I don't see how it would be French? Is the word "lacto" itself French or the entire word?


Return to “Health & Nutrition Programs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests