Can someone tell me if this is vegan?

All topics relating to health, diet, nutrition programs and any questions you might have about general health.

Moderators: Mini Forklift Ⓥ, C.O., Richard, robert, SyrLinus

Message
Author
User avatar
Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 6064
Age: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Can someone tell me if this is vegan?

#1 Postby Richard » Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:16 am

My mum has bought some Omega-3 capsules, and wants my brother to take them. He is vegan, the capsules are vegetarian. But I am not sure if they're vegan. Here are the ingredients:

Flaxseed Oil
Capsule Shell (Modified Starch, Glycerol, Gelling Agent: Carageenan; Dissodium Phosphate),
Vitamin E

The company does normally label things as being vegan if they are vegan, which makes me think they are only vegetarian. Can anyone give me some insight into those ingredients? THANK!
Image

kollision
Elephant
Posts: 1448
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

#2 Postby kollision » Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:39 am

Glycerol could be either animal or vegetable fat.

Refer to the post that I made from PETAs animal sources, and most of your answeres would be found there on the ingredients list.

And if you want to be extremely careful (on the fat part) email the company. That's what I do.

User avatar
Richard
Site Admin
Posts: 6064
Age: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: England
Contact:

#3 Postby Richard » Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:29 am

yeah it's definitely not animal glycerol, because it says it is vegetarian. Oh yes, thanks I will check the animal sources list
Image

kollision
Elephant
Posts: 1448
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

#4 Postby kollision » Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:21 pm

Hope it's Vegan Richard! Good luck.

U-phorik
Finch
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

#5 Postby U-phorik » Thu May 11, 2006 11:42 am

i thought Carrageenan wasnt vegan? I might be wrong.

User avatar
FormicaLinoleum
Elephant
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 9:33 pm
Location: London, UK

#6 Postby FormicaLinoleum » Thu May 11, 2006 12:15 pm

Carageenan is a seaweed derivative, so it is vegan.
My 2012 Training Log

User avatar
veganbarbie
Rabbit
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:37 am
Location: PA
Contact:

#7 Postby veganbarbie » Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:00 am

I bought "vegetarian" flax caps, and they contain gelatin.. so, I dont think everyone knows what vergetarian means
Later bitches.

Aaron
Elephant
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:57 pm
Location: Portland, OR

#8 Postby Aaron » Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:39 pm

Vegetable gelatin or animal gelatin?

User avatar
veganbarbie
Rabbit
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:37 am
Location: PA
Contact:

#9 Postby veganbarbie » Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:20 pm

it didnt say but if it was really vegetarian it would have specified.. either way, i dont take them...
Later bitches.


Return to “Health & Nutrition Programs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests