Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can someone tell me if this is vegan?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 6065
Location: England
My mum has bought some Omega-3 capsules, and wants my brother to take them. He is vegan, the capsules are vegetarian. But I am not sure if they're vegan. Here are the ingredients:

Flaxseed Oil
Capsule Shell (Modified Starch, Glycerol, Gelling Agent: Carageenan; Dissodium Phosphate),
Vitamin E

The company does normally label things as being vegan if they are vegan, which makes me think they are only vegetarian. Can anyone give me some insight into those ingredients? THANK!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:39 am 
Offline
Elephant

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 1448
Glycerol could be either animal or vegetable fat.

Refer to the post that I made from PETAs animal sources, and most of your answeres would be found there on the ingredients list.

And if you want to be extremely careful (on the fat part) email the company. That's what I do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 6065
Location: England
yeah it's definitely not animal glycerol, because it says it is vegetarian. Oh yes, thanks I will check the animal sources list

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:21 pm 
Offline
Elephant

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 1448
Hope it's Vegan Richard! Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 11:42 am 
Offline
Finch

Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 11:26 am
Posts: 4
Location: Beacon, NY
i thought Carrageenan wasnt vegan? I might be wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 12:15 pm 
Offline
Elephant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 9:33 pm
Posts: 1080
Location: London, UK
Carageenan is a seaweed derivative, so it is vegan.

_________________
My 2012 Training Log


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:00 am 
Offline
Rabbit
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:37 am
Posts: 66
Location: PA
I bought "vegetarian" flax caps, and they contain gelatin.. so, I dont think everyone knows what vergetarian means

_________________
Later bitches.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:39 pm 
Offline
Elephant

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:57 pm
Posts: 1242
Location: Portland, OR
Vegetable gelatin or animal gelatin?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:20 pm 
Offline
Rabbit
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:37 am
Posts: 66
Location: PA
it didnt say but if it was really vegetarian it would have specified.. either way, i dont take them...

_________________
Later bitches.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



{ ASACP_CREDITS }
{ ASACP_CREDITS }
{ ASACP_CREDITS } Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group