Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness

Healthy Food Defines You
It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: How much protein do you need?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:14 am 
Rabbit

As an avid strength trainer I am asked most often "How much protein do you eat?" Well to answer that question, let's do a little math.

The human body is made up of 60-70% water. Muscle tissue, is made up of 70-75% water.

1 lb. = 453.6 grams (approx.)

therefore 1 lb. of muscle tissue is made up of approximately 113 grams of protein and approximately 340.2 grams of water.

now as an avid lifter, I've experienced and know that muscle tissue grows at a slow pace...I mean, dreadfully slow. I would be EXTREMELY pleased, if I were to gain even 1 lb of muscle in 1 month.

Now break it down 1lb of muscle over the span of 30 days would equal out to about 3.8 grams of protein per day one would need to consume.

considering the average apple contains 0.3 grams of protein. One would need only consume 10 apples a day to aquire the sufficient amount of protein to create 1 lb. of muscle in 1 month. and apples are not even a high source of protein.
7 oz. of boiled potato contain about 2.8 grams of protein.

so in a nutshell, "how much protein am I eating?"

the answer is "enough"

I do not supplement my diet with any protein powders, or bars, or shakes. and over the span of 3 years have gone from 152 lbs to 185 - 190 lbs (it fluctuates)

Now these numbers are only approximations, as each person will be slightly different, and muscle is obviously made up of more than just water and protein. But it gives you an idea of how much protein one really DOES need to consume... which is far less than the supplement companies want us to believe.