Always putting on too much fat

Hey all, long time no post.

I've always struggled with gaining weight, and if I do gain weight it primarily comes on as fat, and only VERY slowly as muscle. I'm really struggling to find a balance where gain weight without putting on lots and lots of belly fat.

My diet currently is around 2800 calories at an approximate 50/25/25 split. Not totally clean eating, but certainly on the good side of healthy. Very rarely have any processed foods and usually home cooked food. I do enjoy a nice hoppy ale at the weekend, which I'm sure doesn't help with the body fat.

My workout routine is 4 days a week Wendler 531 using the triumvirate accessory model. I've been doing this for around 8 months now and my numbers are still going up, but I'm definitely starting to plateau.

Currently weighing in around 78kg at approx 20% body fat. 5'11" and male, 38 years old.

Basically, in an ideal world I'd like to lessen my body fat percentage but still be able to continue the strength gains I'm achieving with the Wendler programme, but I'm really struggling and my gut is just getting more and more pronounced.

- Should I adjust my diet?

- Should I add some cardio in to my workouts?

- Is it worth getting a testosterone check? I've always struggled to put on muscle mass, at 38 I still can't grow a beard and have no chest hair. I might be over thinking this part, but it does seem that I fit most of the symptoms of this. In the UK, can I just go to my GP to ask about this?

Any thoughts or comments would be hugely appreciated.

Hi Andi, hows it going?

Nice ratios, just the calories, id recommend very slowly descending your calories. I dont believe in "cardio", its an extremely ineffective way for lose fat, given that a single pound of fat can fuel the body for up to 10-12 continuous hours of steady state activity.

Yes, ask your doctor for a test reading, I had it check a year or so ago, think we talked about it before?