Meal regimen suggestions

Hey all, new to this site so I apologize if I am doing anything no in line with forums.

Long story short I am attempting a vegan diet but would like to maintain it high protein to help with workouts. I am having huge problems trying to put together a high protein vegan diet given my lifestyle, and here is why:

1) I am currently a medical student, my hours are 4am-730pm Mon-Saturday. I very almost no time to cook or prepare food, maybe like 20 minutes a few times a day. I usually can only eat breakfast if its something I can scarf in 10 minutes, and lunch may or may not happen. Lunch is more likely to happen if, like breakfast, it can be eaten cold and scarfed. Anything prepared has to be super quick and pretty easy to make.

2) I live off of federal loans, so I can't maintain a diet thats super expensive. I use a protein powder after workouts 3x/week but cant do such daily, and cant consistently purchase high cost vegan protein supplement things or expensive items.

3) I live in a pretty run down neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York where I don't have access to a lot of specialty goods. As such with the exception of things I can purchase online, I only have access to pretty common grocery items (and little fresh produce).

If anyone has any suggestions for a way to maintain a high protein, lowish carb diet, that is in line with the issues above I would really appreciate it! Thanks all, glad to join the community!!

• 2 weeks later...

first....welcome!!!

second...define 'high protein'? Could borrow from 'Shred It!' and ask you in your understanding, what roles protein plays in health and why it's so focused/important?

We are MASSIVELY marketed on protein. Most of us get WAY more than we need, and deprive or bodies of other much needed nutrients that all play a part in fitness, and body building. Get out of balance between carbs, fats, proteins and the micronutrients and things are not optimized at all.