Narcissistic bodybuilder

Hello everyone... Happy Easter!

I grew up playing rugby (and hockey). I played fairly competitively. Once I graduated and got i job, i stopped playing rugby but kept up my 'rugby' training to keep in shape. Over the past couple of years I've found myself training more and more like a bodybuilder. There are no olympic platforms or bumper plates at my gym, so oly lifts are out of the question.

Anyways, I feel like I'm being a bit of a hypocrite training as a bodybuilder. I've always thought of bodybuilders as being narcissistic and a little vain. Obviously this is a generalization and I don't mean to offend any bodybuilders here. I remember seeing a bodybuilding competition on tv. I saw a huge, overly tanned, oiled man wearing nothing but a piece of cloth, grinding and flexing erotically to R&B music and couldn't help but feel a little uncomfortable watching it.

Then of course there's the guys in the locker room gossiping about how 'soandso' doesn't have any calves and how 'whatshisname' really needs to work on his hams.

I guess i just wanted to share my frustrations on being a closet bodybuilder and see what some other opinions are. I train as hard as i can but feel that i'm a little misguided because i don't have a clear goal. I admire bodybuilders and powerlifters who train super hard for 12 weeks to compete in one single event.

I really hope I didn't offend anyone. It's just my own 2 cents and like I said, I am being a hypocrite....

Certainly some bodybuilders appear narcissistic and vain, which is why I think I like watching the (natural) female bodybuilders much more. I think women in the sport embody what it should be about - building symmetry and mass while presenting it with very little body fat. Since the female body builder type is not considered attractive by many, there seems to be less vanity and narcissism. Don't get me started on the new bikini division however.