Help on getting more cals

coroho

Hi all, I've been lifting for about a couple months now, following the Stronglifts program, but I haven't seen much gain at all as far as putting on weight goes. I started tracking my food intake on Fitday a couple weeks ago and I'm thinking maybe I need to be getting more calories. I was getting around 2500 when I started tracking and since I've been aiming higher I can't seem to get past 3250 on any one day. I'm quite skinny, ectomorph build (24yo / 135lbs / 5'10" ). Here's what I'll eat on an average day:

Meal 1: Oatmeal, peanut butter, toast, banana, orange juice

Meal 2: Smoothie (couple frozen fruits, soy milk, spinach)

Meal 3: Salad w/ veggies, beans, seeds, avocado, olive oil

Meal 4: A few fruits and some nuts

Meal 5: Stirfry vegetables with tofu over brown rice

Then I usually run out of steam save for maybe some more fruit and nuts when I've already had 2 similar meals. This breaks down to about 64% carbs / 23% fat / 13% protein. I also can't find any numbers to aim for really, so I don't know if protein is too low and carbs are too high or what, but that's already at like 2:1 g:kg ratio for protein. Internet researching hasn't turned me up any solid advice, so I thought I'd check in with you folks directly to see if you had any suggestions for me (short of drinking a gallon of milk a day, ie stronglifts ). Thanks a lot and nice forum here (:

Your protein percentage seems extremely low to me. I eat around 4000 calories a day 50 - 60% Carbs, 20 - 25% Protein, 20% Fat roughly.

You should do somewhere around 1 to 1.5g or Protein per pound of bodyweight. And around 2 - 3g of carbs per pound.