Jogging Advice

kumar5

What's the best way to jog? I've been jogging for a few years but it's mostly been me jogging until I can't jog, then walk, then jog until I can't jog, walk... ad infinitum.

Is there a 'good' way to jog? My route has been the same mostly, but it still makes me pant and sweat. :P

I jog once a week. It's my only cardio. What else would be good cardio on land? (No water-related ones please, I'm rather aquaphobic)

Thanks.

That's the way I learned to jog...slowly I would increase the length of time I was jogging compared to walking. When I first started out, I would jog 1-2 minutes, walk for a couple of minutes, and repeat that over and over. Gradually I increased the jogging time (e.g., 5 min jogging, 2 min walking then 8 min jogging, etc). If you are looking to increase your running distance there are quite a few online programs to follow. Hal Higdon's seem to get recommended a lot...if you Google that it should come up. I've never used them myself.

As for other land-based cardio, what about cycling? Do you have a bike?

It depends what you're looking to accomplish. I ran competitively for years so I guess most of the routines and training I've done doesn't really translate well for most people.

It is all about goals though. If you're just looking to burn fat, then fartlek/HIIT is probably going to be your best friend. If you have a goal to complete a local 5k next month, then you're going to want to approach this differently, same with a marathon, or if you want to run competitively in anything.