In pain!

So I finally found a great training buddy for free weights. He knows a lot about bodybuilding and he helps me through my training.

I have never done free weights before and I already LOOOOVE it! But I'm in SO much pain right now. My muscles are sore, my body just feel like it's been beaten up badly! We worked out yesterday and today. Is this normal? I use Sunwarrior protein before and after workout.. I drink plenty of water, and my buddy does not allow me to push myself to hard right now. I also do stretch after workout..

Why I am so sore?? It hurts like hell :/

Welcome to getting to know your body limits on weights, and how to repair your body fast!

If you are in a sore pain, that means you have successfully done microtears in your muscle tissue. The body will now attempt to repair the muscle tissue, plus make it stronger (alas - BIGGER!) for the next time this happens to it. So think of everything that you can to make it optimal for you to repair - enough nutrients (protein, carbs, phytonutrients (coenzyme factors to keep the enzymes repairing)), sleep, not utilizing the damaged muscle tissue, and keep your immune system optimal by not letting stress wear it down.

Mmmmmmmm. Soreness........ means bigger muscles in the near future! So smile thru the pain. Remember these beginner times, when you get sore and build big fast. You will get to a plateau in the future, where you try and try, but it will take massive effort just to get sore.

Remember these beginner times, when you get sore and build big fast. You will get to a plateau in the future, where you try and try, but it will take massive effort just to get sore.

So true. Newbie gains were the days.

It's funny you say you won't miss it but, to be honest, it's one of life's ironies - I definitely miss the soreness I used to feel when I first started lifting even though, at the time, I hated it.