Jump to content

8th continent soy milk


acatherine13
 Share

Recommended Posts

I found this on a forum, apparently someone e-mailed 8th continent.

 

Thank you for contacting us regarding 8th Continent soymilk.

 

The Vitamin D used in 8th Continent soymilk is Vitamin D3, Cholecalciferol, from wool fat (lanolin). Thus, 8th Continent soymilk is not a vegan product.

 

We appreciate your interest in our product.

 

Sincerely,

 

Susan L. Fink

Consumer Services

 

I didn't even know there was Vitamin D in lanolin.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

bummer to hear. i thought their chocolate soymilk was WAY better than Silk's. generally cheaper too.

 

sort of a stupid thing too, they're excluding probably one of the biggest groups of soymilk drinkers. over one little ingredient that could easily be replaced.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's an American Brand, so I don't know it, but I agree it Sucks when Soy products contain animal derivatives.

Most of the Soy market is directed at people with a Lactose intolerance, so even though we might have a few products that are no good, at least products are a lot more available.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would really disagree that the majority of soymilk drinkers are vegan. If that was the case those companies would go bankrupt. But on the other hand yea 8th continent isnt vegan and they suck for it.

 

Yeah, I agree. Just spend a few minutes standing by the soymilk cooler at Wal-Mart. If you've never been, they have an entire cooler dedicated to soymilk, including their own organic brand which has been out for a few years. Most of the people buying soymilk are either white folks over 60 or african americans of all ages. You'd likely have to stand there a while to snag a single vegan buying soymilk at wal-mart.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yeah, I know what you guys mean. I'm sure by far, the majority of soymilk drinkers are non-vegan.

 

Even with the product line I work with (VEGA), since it's a vegan product made by a vegan I figured lots of customers would be vegan. 95% of our customer base is non-vegan. So I'm sure that is true for lots of "vegan" products. There just aren't that many of out there

 

Certain vegan food products, veg magazines and other things are run by non-vegans and don't care much about the vegan market. It's just an alternative product for those concerned about cholestrol, fat, or lactose.

 

I think most people who buy my t-shirts and DVDs are VEGAN

Link to comment
Share on other sites

to remind you all, i didnt say vegans were THE biggest group of soy milk drinkers... but probably one of the biggest. i mean the majority of vegans probably drink soymilk on a regular basis... hell i go through an easy half gallon of plain and chocolate silk about every week.

 

i don't know how things are where all of you are. but in salt lake, there is a pretty big vegan community. there is also a very small african american population here compared to alot of cities i've been to. the amount of older folks i guess are pretty normal.

 

so basically what i was getting at, if you were to pie chart out the statistics, i'm sure vegans would make up a significant chunk of the soymilk drinking population and it would probably be in 8th continent's best interest to adjust their product to be totally vegan.

 

but on a happier note, i actually looked into it a little more while i was bored at work today. and i guess they did make the changes.

 

8th Continent Soymilk IS vegan!

 

Its been vegan for a while, but there is still some controversy I am trying to clear it up.

 

For those of you who dont know, 8th Continent Soymilk used to contain Vitamin D3, which is NOT vegan (its either lanolin [wool fat] or fish oil). It is now vegan, with Vitamin D2.

 

People are still telling others not to use it, but it is VEGAN. Spread the news. 8th Continent is one of the cheaper, tastier soymilks and available in most supermarkets.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8th continent soymilk WAS not vegan. I am pretty sure they reformulated it and it is now vegan. I think they replaced the D3 with D2 or something. I'm going to bed now, but tommorow I can try and find the source where I saw that (I believe one of the vegans on another forum I'm in wrote 8th continent and a rep wrote back with a letter saying they reformulated it).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

thanks everyone, for educating me. today i looked at the soy milk my husband bought, and it also had vitamin D. I loked at our orange juice--also vitamin d. does anyone know how to get correct on which vitamin d is vegan?

or which soy milks are vegan for that matter?

 

still learning,

amy catherine

Link to comment
Share on other sites

thanks everyone, for educating me. today i looked at the soy milk my husband bought, and it also had vitamin D. I loked at our orange juice--also vitamin d. does anyone know how to get correct on which vitamin d is vegan?

or which soy milks are vegan for that matter?

 

still learning,

amy catherine

 

Vitamin D3 is not vegan (and can come from a large number of sources, though I imagine it can be synthetic too, which is acceptable), Vitamin D2 is.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...