Biology?

Kon

what do you people think of biology?

I have been thinking about possible career avenues because I have absolutely no idea what I want to do, and I came across some video lectures of biology and am thinking it is rather interesting. It seems totally different from how I remember it in highschool. I find the whole study of how life works and is constructed interesting and it seems like a pretty visual type of study which I enjoy since I have been an artist all my life.

Also it seems like it will be a very important field in the future as the full scope of it isn't entirely known yet.

I'm wondering how feasible a career in biology would be for me though since ive spent most of my time simply drawing and stuff or doing other things.

ha! If I knew how much drawing there was in biology I never would have done a degree in it!

Are you thinking of doing some kind of degree in biology? I did a BSc in biology and enjoyed it alot. I particularly enjoyed botany classes, which surprised me. There is alot of rote memorization especially in the early years of a bio degree, but that's neccessary in order to be able to understand the more interesting and complicated stuff.

yeah, im considering a degree in it. I've only come across some videos yesterday http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/Biology/7-012Fall-2004/VideoLectures/index.htm

and already from the initial two vids that I have watched so far, the field seems very attractive to me. I'm going to be watching all these vids to get a better idea of the field.

What do you mean by rote memorization?

Bio is great. I was a bio major for nearly two years and loved it but found something else. You can't really do much with a baccalaureate degree in bio but a bio degree prepares you for so many graduate degrees. This can really give you lots of time to decide what you really want to do. Its really hard though.

Also the possibility of animal experimentation. You need to decide how you will deal with it.