Transistioning to raw

Dann78

I am making the leap from the standard American diet to a raw diet I have been doing great for a while and now I find myself getting stagnated in terms knowing what to make and how to shop differently and noticing that this is somewhat more expensive. As far as expense goes I realize that over time I will get more effective with this different style of feeding myself. And if it is more expensive this way, so what I feel better, and that is worth more so I guess that what it really costs to eat.

I guess my question really is long could it take before one got as comforatable buying, storing, and prepairing raw food?

I feel like I'm learning to play guitar when I have been a drummer all my life. I still have alot of motivation to carry on I'm just curious as to how you veterans handled this many moons ago.

I don't think storing a lot of raw food is a good thing because its not all that fresh and basically cancells out a lot of the benefits. Beans or whatever you can sprout are great though because they don't take up much space at all until you sprout them...plus its super cheap and will save you tons of money if you get in the habbit of it.

I'm at the same stage of transition too. I make raw efforts for some days (10 being the longest in a raw), then go back to some cooked, then again raw. I definately find it more expensive to constantly buy fruits, but if the fruits are in season and not from far away they're quite cheap. I like shopping small quantities every day or every other day so that i don't have to spend alot of money and then, at the end of the week, have some fruits or vegetables uneaten...

I think small quantities is the key, for me at least...

• 1 month later...

It took me about 3 months until I got into the groove of raw food, knowing what to buy, how often to shop, what meals to prepare, etc.

I recommend having a few raw un-cookbooks around, they are great for when you are bored and want new meal ideas.